Traveling Without Loved Ones

What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it. – Daily Prompt

photo

I have two favorite people. My daughter and my wife.

The longest I have been away from them has only been 2-3 days at a time. This usually occurs when they go out of town to visit family. Happens only about once a year or so if that. Usually it’s not a big deal because I am at home still working and doing a lot of the normal things that I do every day. While I miss them it’s not horrible.

A few years before my daughter was born however I traveled on business to Edmonton, Canada. I was going up there to train some people to do the same job I did in my current location. I was gone from Tuesday morning to Friday afternoon.

While I was working it was fine. Not really much of a difference. But once I left and went back to the hotel the loneliness started. Having dinner and being in the hotel room really made me realize how much I missed my wife. You take things for granted when they are right here with you every minute of every day. I was waiting for the time to go to bed and go to sleep so I could at least have something to do the next day again.

Even when I went to visit the West Edmonton Mall all I thought about was how awesome it would be if my wife was there sharing it with me. It was an awesome mall and something I enjoyed seeing. But it would of been so much more fun with my wife. I was never so happy to get back home!

I can only imagine what it would be like to travel now that I have two favorite people at home. The opportunity will probably present itself soon and I will get to find out but I am sure it will be more of the same.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Family, Love, Marriage, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Traveling Without Loved Ones

  1. This is beautiful Joe ..
    You and your family are blessed for the warmth of Love that you share ….
    May God bless you always ….

Leave a Reply

