Rule Breaking

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best? – Daily Prompt

index

This was a tough one. Anyone who knows me knows that I am pretty much a straight by the book person and follow the rules. So if you are looking for something juicy and exciting, you aren’t going to find it in this post.

I think the thing that keeps coming to mind is a story from high school. It was my senior year and I had a major case of senioritis. It was coming to the end of the year, I knew I was going to graduate, how well I did or didn’t do in the last couple of months of the school year made no difference in the outcome of anything.

For whatever reason I decided to take physics my senior year. It sounded like a good idea at the time I registered. But I was never one who enjoyed science. But I at least got the fun field trip out of it at the end of year where we got to go to an amusement park and do all the cool physics formulas that went along with all those rides.

It was precisely those formulas which caused me so much grief when it came time for the tests. I never took the time to memorize the formulas. So when it came to the final test in the class I knew I wasn’t going to do well.

My way of combating this was to write the formulas on the outside of one of my folders. The folder I left laying on the floor by my desk, on top. It was normal for us to all put our books and stuff on the floor when it came time to take a test so no one gave it a second thought.

When I got the test, I simply wrote those same formulas that were on the folder on the top of my test. Nobody noticed and it seemed to anyone else like I just wrote them all when I got the test as a help to use during the test.

It worked well. Nobody ever had a clue. I ended up doing really well on the test. I was considered one of the smart students who was expected to do well so nobody thought anything was out of the ordinary when I did well.

Looking back, it worked at the time to get me a good grade. But it certainly did not help me learn anything. Not that I needed to know those formulas beyond that test, but I can’t honestly say I got out of it what I was supposed to get out of it. I would of learned a lot more had I actually taken the time and effort to learn the formulas.

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Education, Morality, Right vs Wrong, School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rule Breaking

  1. Gail says:

    Eww… physics. I shudder just saying the word. Never did well in it.

    • joec0321 says:

      I think the concept it neat. And I am amazed by the actual things that physics causes to happen. But as far as needing to know the why of it, I decided it wasn’t for me.

  2. seeker says:

    Yah, it’s an old time favourite of most students breaking the law, meaning cheating in plain language. But Physics, who can split an atom at that age!

Leave a Reply

