Happy Memorial Day!

As many of you are aware, today is Memorial Day. It is a day where we remember all the fallen soldiers who have fought for the freedoms that we have today. It takes someone special to go out and risk their life so we can enjoy the freedoms of speech, religion, and all the other reasons we love the good ole USA! To anyone reading this who has fought for our freedoms, Thank You!

We also take time to remember loved ones in our own family who have moved on. Few people I have been close to have been lost. Some say that is fortunate and lucky, and I can certainly understand why they would say that. But on the flip side, it is also unfortunate because the reason for this is because I know a very small portion of my family based on choices beyond my control. I am often jealous of those who have large families and get togethers and fun times. But that is another story….

I can only remember 3 people who I was close to who have passed on, and all of them happened when I was young, no older than 8 or 9. But in the spirit of the day, I am going to take a moment to remember them here.

First was the old lady who lived next door to my parents. I don’t remember her name but I do remember how she would always let me come into her house and be at home. She would let me sweep her kitchen, clean her garage, whatever was appropriate for a 4 or 5 year old to do. She even occasionally would have a nice treat for me. Then one day I was told she had passed on. Obviously I did not know much about what that meant but I did know there were no more treats and fun times in her house.

There was a sister who passed away of SIDS. I don’t recall how old I was, probably about 6 or 7 since she was the third child born to my parents and there is 5 years between me and my next oldest brother. She was only about 5 or 6 months old and I don’t remember much. I often wonder how things would of been different had this not happened since my parents kept having children until they had a girl. Would I only have 3 siblings instead of 6?? Who knows.

The one who I remember the most and miss the most is my great grandmother. I do not remember having a lot of grief at the time, but I still remember how I would call her on the phone and she would always tell me the same story every time. I don’t know the name of the story and have never seen or heard it since, but I do remember that it was about a little boy going up into the attic to dig up potatoes for dinner and finding a big toe that was then used in the soup. Then they hear someone calling asking where the big toe is the rest of the night.

Other fun, but less important, things that Memorial Day brings to mind for me:

Swimming! I have a swimming pool at home, and even though I don’t know how to swim, love to get in the pool and float around. It’s especially relaxing when I can get in and float around while listening to the Reds on the radio. Of course Marty Brenneman has to be calling the game. The other broadcasters are okay but no one matches up to Marty.

Baseball and Apple Pie! America’s Past Times. Usually by this time the Reds are long out of the race but I still follow and enjoy the game. This year so far they are playing decent baseball and are in first place. Of course this could all change over the next 3 days since they are playing the 2nd place Cardinals. With their lack of success I am always looking for it to end when they do well. Here’s hoping they prove me wrong!

Grilling Out! I’m not above using my grill during the winter, especially its on a covered deck. But it’s just not the same as summer time grilling. I really wanted to break out some brats and grill out today. But I did not since my wife is still on her liquid diet from her recent gastric bypass surgery. No need to torture her, soon enough I will be able to do so without torturing her and it will be just as fun. But I sure wanted to go join the neighbors last night when I was outside and could smell their cook out!

Hope you and yours have a great Memorial Day holiday!

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

