Giving God The Time He Deserves

Do you feel you give God the time he deserves? Or do you find yourself only giving him time when you need something from him?

A couple weekends ago the sermon at church was about setting priorities. This would of been an easy week to skip as my daughter had spent the weekend away at grandmas and we had to pick her up early Sunday morning because of a family get together for Thanksgiving Sunday afternoon after church. Would of been nice to skip church and sleep in a little bit since that doesn’t happen often when she is home. But that was not to be as I was scheduled to be liturgist at the second service that morning. Apparently this was a sermon I was meant to hear.

The sermon was based on the passage in Matthew 22:36-40:

36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” 37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

The sermon went on to say that priorities should be set in life based on these commandments. First priority would be to love God and build your relationship with him. Second, family. Third, work. And finally fourth would be church.
The more I think about this the more I think I do a pretty good job with three of the four priorities. Obviously not perfect in any area because no one is. We all have room for improvements.

I have always placed a high priority on family. I pride myself in being the best husband and father I can be. I stayed in a job where it was pretty clear my limitations for learning and advancement had been met longer than I should have because the other opportunities did not offer the schedule that would allow me to stay active in my daughter’s activities. God rewarded me with a wonderful new position that involves no weekends and very flexible scheduling if I need it which I absolutely love.

I am very good at my job and dedicated to doing the best job I can while at work. I have always been a top performer and received awards and accommodations. I truly feel people I work with respect me highly and truly look to me for the answers they can not find or just answers they need confirmation of.

And I am definitely very involved in my church. Whether it be preparing communion monthly, doing the hospitality table, or helping out in many different other areas. I have grown to enjoy serving in those ways and made a lot of very good friendships and relationships through it.

The one area that could use a lot of improvement is relationship with God. I am not completely lacking in this area. But of the four areas, this is the one where the most improvement would be possible. With everything going on in busy lives it is easy to skip reading the Bible for a day. And I do pride myself in the fact that my daughter has gotten in the habit of reading everyday and actually looks forward to it with excitement. Her and mom read the children’s Bible together every day. And I read a devotional with her at bedtime each night. We are always sure to say prayers together at bedtime and at meals at home. This will be something that helps her keep this habit throughout her life. I just am not as faithful when it comes to me personally spending that time reading and maintaining that relationship. Definitely an area I am going to make an effort on working on.

So how about you? Do you find yourself struggling with maintaining the daily effort needed? If not, how do you manage to keep on track?

This entry was posted in Commandments, Family, Priorities, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

