The Horrible Newton, CT Tragedy

As I am sure is true with all of you, my thoughts and prayers are with the families of all those affected by the horrible tragedy in Newton, CT. I have never understood how anyone could ever bring themselves to take another human life unless it was in defense of their own life or the life of someone they love. But to go in and randomly start shooting at a bunch of young children who are in no way able to defend or protect themselves? No matter what is going on in  a person’s head or life, NOTHING justifies something as horrible as this.

As readers will know from my previous posts, I believe all things happen for a reason. I just don’t always know the reason and I don’t think any of us will ever have a reason we can understand for why something like this would happen. There is no possible good reason that could come from something like this. I have been avoiding the media frenzy surrounding the situation. I don’t need to know anything more than what I already know and have no interest in knowing any more. No matter how much I end up knowing, it’s not going to answer the question of why. I know it’s the media’s job to report on the situation, but really, what more do we need to know? Watching and reading hours on end of coverage is only going to increase the anxiety, fear, frustration, and grief in people.

Part of being a Christian is giving forgiveness. And usually I have no problem with that. But how can a family member of one of those innocent children ever give forgiveness for what this man has done? I can’t imagine myself being able to do so. This isn’t a simple mistake where someone made a bad judgement and drove when they shouldn’t have. Or an accident that occurred because someone dropped something and looked down to locate the item they dropped. This was preplanned, probably well in advance, and very deliberate. No mercy or regard was shown for life of these innocent young children who had so much to look forward to in life. And the parents who have Christmas gifts all wrapped waiting to be opened under their Christmas tree. How terrible Christmas morning will be when their child is not there to open those gifts. It truly takes strength from God for anyone to show forgiveness because I don’t think there are many of us mere humans who would be able to forgive without that strength.

One other thought that occurs to me based on this horrible tragedy. The people who I see posting on Facebook and other places arguing on either side of the gun control laws. It is the wrong time and place for this. The loss of human life that has occurred is way more important and should be a higher priority then gun control laws. Do I think we need stricter gun control laws? Yes. But I thought that before this occurred. I think there should be a limit on the number of guns and person can have and the type of guns they can own. No one individual needs to have a whole arsenal of weapons in their home. And there is no reason for an individual to need to own semi automatic weapons. Do I want school adminstrators carrying guns into schools to protect children? No. I don’t. But this is not the time and place to discuss and lobby for or against gun control laws. This is the time and place to respect the privacy and the grieving of the families who have lost their precious children in a senseless act of violence. Human life should always be the top priority in any situation and some people are totally overlooking that priority in an attempt to further their political views.

At this time I think we all just need to keep the families in our prayers and thoughts. No amount of asking why is going to bring any of the children back. We need to pray for the victims, the families, the teachers, adminstrators, and students, and all the people who had to respond to the scene. They are going to need all the prayers they can get in order to deal with this situation.

 

 

This entry was posted in Bad Things, Christmas, Disasters, Family, Forgiveness, Free Will, God, Gun Control, Holidays, Parenting, Prayer, Priorities, Reasoning, Religion, Tragedy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Horrible Newton, CT Tragedy

  1. randyyou says:

    My prayer go out to the famliy & friends of the Ct. Tradgegy

  2. randyyou says:

    My prayers go out to the family & friends of the Newton CT. tragedy.

  3. Heath Capps says:

    I think pain serves many purposes. Not the least of which is bringing whole communities together. Makes us pray more. Reminds us of the truly important pieces of our lives. Also, these things happen because people sin–they have free will to make choices. We humans don’t take enough responsibility for our actions–too many people blame calamities on God–i.e. “how could God let this happen?” When the reality is, God is asking us the same question!

    • joec0321 says:

      Definitely agree on the sin and free will. And in my daily job I see people all the time passing blame on others rather than themselves. I’m not sure people necessarily blame people for the calamities. I think more people are just asking why their loved ones were not protected. Or why innocent children are hurt when they have very little control over the every day going ons in the world. Something that is very hard to understand, even for some of the most faithful.

Leave a Reply

