Impacting The World Around You

Do you ever find yourself wondering about whether you are having an impact on others around you to the extent you would like to? I know I do. I want to be someone who has a positive impact on those around them. Not just my family which is a given, but also in the world around you outside of your family.

For the longest time I thought that I was not doing that. I was involved in a lot of activities in my church and coaching youth sports through the local YMCA. I was enjoying those activities but was I really making a difference like I wanted to? I just wasn’t convinced I was. Sure I was being very active and helpful. But these were all simple things that really were not complicated or difficult. Anyone could do these things, it didn’t take any special talents or abilities. Just a willingness to say yes and follow through with making sure the tasks were completed.

Then I realized, I was looking at the activities through my own eyes. When I stopped and thought about how others would of looked at what I was doing, it made a whole different realization. Sure, these activities were simple and anyone could of possibly completed them. But not many people were willing to do so. Or in some cases just don’t have the time to commit to doing them.

When I took time to think of how do the kids I am coaching view what I am doing. When I took time to think of how the church members view the activities I am involved in. When I took the time to think of how the children in church view the teaching and mentoring I am doing. That’s when I really began to feel good about the impact I was making in the world around me.

Does this mean I am happy with what has accomplished? That I can sit back and say I have accomplished my goal? No, I don’t think so. There is always more areas of opportunity to positively affect the world around you. I think a lot of people are happy with just affecting their family. To me though, why settle at that when the opportunity is there to have an even more far reaching impact?

 

This entry was posted in Character, Children, Church, Coaching Youth Sports, Family, Impacting The World, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

