The Holiday Season is Upon Us

So assuming the Mayans are wrong and we are still around after tomorrow, what are you looking forward to the most over the holidays?

For me the biggest thing I am excited about it the fact I will be off work after tomorrow for 11 days. I love the time I get to spend at home with my daughter and wife. My daughter is also pretty excited about it. I asked her the other day what we were going to do with all that time together. Her response – “anything the small one and the one want to do!”. She quickly clarified that she was the small one so we had to do her choices first. I absolutely cherish every moment we get to spend together. It goes way to quickly to take any of the time for granted.

I am looking forward to having days where there are no activities to get to. I love the activities we are involved in and she looks forward to them as well. But it’s also nice to have a break where you only have to go to things if you choose to do so. I am so looking forward to Christmas day when we just get up, open presents, and lounge around the house all day in pajamas.

We are having parties with my family on Saturday and the wife’s family on Sunday. I always enjoy seeing family. We are all so busy and have such varying work schedules that it is hard to get together as often as I would like. When we do get the opportunity to do so it’s always a lot of fun. My daughter really looks forward to getting time to spend playing with her cousins.

Of course I can’t forget the most important reason for the holiday. Christmas is the birth of Jesus. It is because of his birth, death, and resurrection that we have the opportunity for ever lasting life. I love all the church services that occur. My favorite part of the church service is on Christmas Eve when they pass out candles to all. At the end of the service they come around and pass the flame from one candle to the other. We all get to circle the sanctuary holding the candles and turn out the lights and sing Silent Night. It is an awesome and moving experience.

So what are you looking forward to most this holiday season?

 

This entry was posted in Christmas, Church, Family, Father-Daughter, Holidays, Jesus, Religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Holiday Season is Upon Us

  1. hownottokillyourparents says:

    Every year, we watch We’re No Angels (with Bogart). It’s the only time of year that we watch it, so it’s always special.

    • joec0321 says:

      Sounds fun. My daughter is now just getting old enough to watch shows that are not animated so going to have to find a show we can all watch together and make it a special tradition for just the three of us.

Leave a Reply

