Fired For Being Too Attractive??

I came across the following strange news story and I am thinking there is more to the story than we know.

http://fox6now.com/2012/12/25/iowa-woman-fired-for-being-irresistible-to-her-boss/

The story is about a boss who fired a female employee because he and his wife felt that the employee was a danger to their marriage. Obviously we don’t know everything that was going on outside of what the news story tells us. But it certainly raises some questions for me.

First of all, why did it take 10 years for this to be an issue? Article says the employee was hired in 1999 and not fired until 2010. Seems like is this was going to be an issue it would of occurred long before 10 years had passed. It’s not like it’s a huge company where they are co-workers and may not have had a relationship for the entire time. It’s hard to not have contact and relationship with your boss in a small dental 0ffice. I applaud the boss for being aware of it being a possible issue in his marriage and taking steps to eliminate the issue. A lot of men would probably have just shrugged it off as a jealous wife or as a wife who was overreacting. But I still have to wonder what caused it to all the sudden become an issue. From the article mentioning the text messages discovered by the wife and the comment about bulging pants that maybe comments he had made might of lead the employee on. But from the article we do not have enough information to know for sure.

Second, not sure how this could not be considered an issue where the employee would not have a case against the employer for wrongful termination unless there is more information we are not aware of from the article about inappropriate behavior on the part of the employee. It would seem to me that without documented evidence against the employee that it would be grounds for wrongful termination. It was definitely a decision made based on gender and attractiveness of the employee. If a person was fired for being ugly, overweight, etc, would that not be a wrongful termination?

I would like to know more but based on the little we do know I would say the employer made the right decision in order to save his marriage and the court made the wrong decision in saying that the employee was not wrongfully terminated. Just because you are doing the moral and right thing for you and your marriage does not mean you are also doing the legal thing in a court of law. Wonder what the decision would have been had it been an all female Supreme Court??

 

This entry was posted in DPchallenge, Family, Legal Decisions, Marriage, Morality, News Stories, Right vs Wrong and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fired For Being Too Attractive??

  1. I live in Iowa. Hmmmm… I didn’t hear about this one. Well that must be my problem, people are not hiring me because I’m too attractive. 😉 Seriously though, I see what you are saying here.

    • joec0321 says:

      I heard about it on a radio talk show and decided to see if I could find out more about it. I still find it hard to believe there is not more to it. Good luck in your job hunt!

  2. Debby says:

    trying to find the best place to follow you. Anyway I hope you will follow me back. http://debbydoesavon.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

