It’s Official. My Vacation is Over.

I had the last week and a half off to be home with my wife and daughter. And I loved every minute of it. It started with Christmas parties on Saturday and Sunday. Saturday with my family, Sunday with the wife’s family. It always exciting to watch my daughter enjoy being around family, especially my side of the family where there are a lot of cousins who she gets to play with. She looks forward to seeing them all. Unfortunately with the varying schedules of everyone in our family we don’t get together as often as we would like so it’s exciting for her when we do.

Monday was Christmas Eve. My daughter is in the Praise Kids Choir at church. They helped lead the family service at church Monday evening. It’s so cute to see all the little kids up there singing songs with the purpose of sharing God’s love, and in this case the Christmas story, with everyone. The older kids in the group read scriptures in between the songs they sang and then they ended the service with all the kids present taking a trip around the church and ending with singing Happy Birthday Jesus. It was an awesome way to make sure that even with all the business of the commercial portion of Christmas the kids still remembered the real reason for the season.

The rest of the week was spent in a very relaxing way. At home with just the three of us. We played board games and card games. We colored. We had time to be at home together for dinner and lunch every day as a family. Daughter and I played in the snow, which thankfully fell the day after Christmas so as to not interfere with anything I had to go out and do. The wife and I got to watch some movies together after daughter was in bed. And of course I ever got to watch some football. It really was a very wonderful time!

I even accomplished replacing the wife’s garbage disposal. Anyone who knows me knows I’m not the handyman type of person. I always have an interest in doing those types of things but they just never turn out the way I expect they will. Not to mention usually our schedule is to busy to do such things. But I successfully got the old one out and the new one in and it works. To some it may not seem like much but I was very pleased with my accomplishment!

And now today we go back to normal. Work for both me and the wife, usual activities my daughter is interested in. But I am already looking forward to the week in July where I am scheduled to be off. Especially since it’ll be warm and we can get outside and do things like water parks and amusement parks among other outdoor activities we all enjoy!

This entry was posted in Christmas, Church, Family, Father-Daughter, Football, Holidays, Religion, Vacations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

