In The Beginning

Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post. – Daily Prompt

“In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.” – Genesis 1:1

I don’t truly have a favorite book. I have read a lot of books and enjoyed a lot of books. But anytime someone asks me what my favorite book is I never really have an answer. So I decided today to write the first sentence from the book that has had the greatest influence on my life.

In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. And that was the start of it all. I understand everyone has different opinions and theories on how the world started. But I myself believe in the creation of the world by God as told in the Bible.

I know science has come up with a lot of possible theories. And I know a popular theory is the big bang theory. To me however, I just can’t see how such a theory could be responsible. With all the fine intricate details that had to take place in order for life as we know it to exist, it seems rather far fetched to me that we could have all those blocks to fall in place just as a happen stance.

Earth had to be created and placed just where it was. Any further away from the sun and it would be too cold for life. Any closed and it would be too hot. If the Earth rotated or orbited any faster or slower life would not be able to exist. And does one really believe that all the flowers, lakes and rivers, and other beautiful scenery we are privileged to just would of appeared out of that huge cosmic explosion?

Then you come to the animals and humans on the planet. Another popular theory based on science is the theory of evolution. I believe evolution occurs to a small extent, for example different pigmentation in people based on the area of the world they were born or animals acquiring new features to help them adapt to changes in their environment. I do not believe however that evolution would explain how human beings evolved from a single cell organism. If evolution were true would it stop at human beings as we know it? Are we so complete and so perfect that there would be nowhere to advance beyond our current stage?

So many things had to happen in just the right order at the right time in order for this world to be created. It just is not possible for me to believe in anything other than creation by an intelligent being.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, God, God's Overall Plan, Religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In The Beginning

  1. Hallelujah, thank you Jesus!

  2. Gail says:

    I so agree!!!! Great post!

  3. seeker says:

    The Bible is the BEST book over to read. Amen.

Leave a Reply

