The Girl With No Name

Apparently in Iceland, there is a book of approved name for parents to pick from. Because the parents of a girl picked the name Blaer which was not in the book of approved names she has no official name and if referred to as just “Girl” on all her official documents.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/03/blaer-banned-in-iceland_n_2401493.html?ir=Parents&ncid=edlinkusaolp00000009

The purpose behind the book is to try and avoid have kids being name embarrassing names. The names are also said to meet official Icelandic grammar and pronunciation rules.

After hearing the story of parents who recently named their baby Hashtag I can understand why some may think an approved names registry is needed to prevent kids from being embarrassed by the names they are given by their parents. I can even understand the pronunciation concern. I have had kids on the last two teams I coached where I still was not sure I was pronouncing their names correctly at the end of the season.

But to limit the freedom parents have to name their child whatever they want seems to be going a bit far. Part of the fun of knowing a baby is on the way is the process of choosing the appropriate name for the soon to be new member of the family. The children can always go by a nick name or change their name as they get older.

So what do you think? Is an approved names book going a bit far??

This entry was posted in Children, Coaching Youth Sports, Kids Growing Up, News Stories, Parenting, Youth Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Girl With No Name

  1. Far be it for me to criticise the Icelandic people but yes, it is going a bit far. After all, a good name or a humiliating name is all conjecture anyway- somebody’s opinion of ‘Oh, that’s a lovely name’ is another person’s ‘Jeez, that poor kid is going to get a load of crap in the playground – were the parents drunk?’

  2. raisinemreal says:

    While I think it is a bit too far, I have friends who named their son Mars. Perhaps a 1 year waiting period on names should be implemented….

    • joec0321 says:

      Mars? Were the fans of the candy? Or the planet?

      You would think the 9 months you had to plan for the coming baby would be enough of a waiting period. Since it seems it is not I doubt the 1 year period would work any better.

  3. Sandi Ormsby says:

    Well, if you’re a super star, I suppose it’s acceptable to name your child Blanket (Michael Jackson) and Apple (Gwyneth Paltrow)…or like our next door neighbor, his name is Shadow (his parents were hippies.) I think people should be aware of names that other kids might make fun of…or issues…my step mom named her daughter, Jaime…it’s supposed to be pronounced Jamie (Jay-me), but I was taking a French course and she thought J’taime (I love) was beautiful and she could spell Jaime that way meaning “love”…except we live in Southern California, and have a very large Hispanic community…that spelling is a spanish boy name…the school always placed Jaime (pronounced “Hi – me” into boys PE, and workshop, etc.) She hated it. My poor sister.

    So, should we be limited to a book of names- absolutely not- the system should make it extremely easy to change your legal name by the time you’re an adult. In the meantime, go by your middle name- people do that all the time. Matthew Joseph…goes by Joe.

    A book…wow!

    First time visiting. Clicking to receive your future posts. Feel free to visit my end of the blog-o-sphere!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA
    USA

    • joec0321 says:

      I know all about nick names. I was named Joseph but I don’t like the name. Besides A Cup of Joseph just would not have the same ring! Although when my wife and I were naming our daughter I wanted to make sure whatever name we choose was the name we were going to call her. I didn’t see the sense in giving her one name and then calling her something different. For instance naming her Elizabeth and then calling her Beth or Liz. I don’t see the point. Now if she wants to give herself a nick name as she gets older then that is her choice.

      Thanks for stopping by and visiting. I will be sure to check your blog out!

Leave a Reply

