My Greatest Fear

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.Daily Prompt

index

This one is easy. There is probably only one thing that I truly am afraid of. That would be drowning. Even in the bathtub when I know I am completely in control, if I lay back and the water starts getting around my ears I feel the overwhelming sense of panic and fear surging through me. I think it stems from when I was about 20 and went swimming with some friends. I got to near the drop off to the deep end and thought I was going to drown. I grabbed on to a friend close by who pulled me to the side but it’s been a fear of mine ever since.

This is something I truly want to get over. My daughter is close to being tall enough to go on water slides at the water park. I know she is going to be begging me to go on those rides with her. Those rides scare me though because I see people coming out at the end of the slide and going under water. I don’t want to have to tell no I can’t go just because of a fear I have. But at the same time, knowing the panic I feel when I am in water that is in danger of covering my head, I wonder if it’s something I can overcome. I keep telling myself that I would never want my daughter to not try to overcome a fear of hers, so I think I owe it to her to try.

So if I was locked in a room with my greatest fear it would mean I was locked in a room where water was slowly rising. No doors to unlock, windows to break. It would only be a matter of time before the water completely filled the room and I slowly drowned. As the water kept creeping up on me I would slowly going from concerned and worried to being in complete and utter panic.

What would be your greatest fear?

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Father-Daughter, Fear, Helplessness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Greatest Fear

  1. seeker says:

    I don’t swim, I don’t use the bathtub. I am just as scared as you. Imagine Tsunami. Fear factor to the ump time.

  2. Gail says:

    Many years ago when my kids were younger, we went to a water park and rode a giant water slide. It was my first and last time. I think that was the scaredest I’ve ever been in my life. I never want to experience that again. I was shaking uncontrollably when that ride down the slide ended.

    • joec0321 says:

      You sure didn’t help me with my fear there Gail! 😉 I’m sure I can find a nice, gentle water slide somewhere that won’t be all that scary. Trick will be to convince her that that is the one we need to go on. She is a dare devil and loves being in the water. She can swim pretty well for a four year old. She’s always telling me how she could teach me how to swim.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: 1984 « KnowledgeKnut

  4. Pingback: BEHIND MY EYES « hastywords

  5. Pingback: I’m Afraid of Water??? « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  6. Pingback: BEHIND MY EYES |

Leave a Reply

