What Difference Have I Made?

index

My favorite Christmas movie is It’s A Wonderful Life. The ending of the movie is something that I always wish I could experience myself. Not necessarily the hardship and struggles George Bailey is going through, but the experience where he gets to see exactly what type of a difference he has made on all those around him through the help of Clarence the angel.

Do you ever wonder what it would be like if you had the opportunity to see what life would of been like if you had never been around?

I always find myself wondering what type of a difference I have made. Obviously, I know the difference I have made with my wife and my daughter. But what about with everyone else I have come in contact with? Have I made a difference? Or was I just someone who passed by like a ship in the night?

I believe the actions we take are like a pebble thrown into a pond. We land with a big splash where the pebble lands. But then you can watch and see the ripples of that pebble landing expand out from the splash. How far have my ripples extended?

I like to believe I have made a difference for the better. As a Christian, one of the goals is to share the love of Jesus with the world. It’s not just about me and what I get out of it. But it’s more about what I can do to help others and show that there is someone out there who cares for them.

I wonder what type of an impact I have had. Have I influenced someone to do something better? Have I been an inspiration or driving force which caused something great to happen?

I know there will never be a Clarence the angel to come and show me the difference I have made in the world. Or the lack of a difference as the case may be. But I find it to be one of those what if questions that I banter around in my mind from time to time.

In the end, I suppose I will get to find out if my effort was good enough when I am before Jesus and hoping to hear him say “Well done, good and faithful servant”. If I do not hear it, it will certainly not be for lack of trying to positively influence others and make a difference.

I don’t believe one makes it to heaven by good works alone. I believe one has to believe. And I do believe. But if you believe, then you are certainly going to be out there and trying to make a difference in the world. I am out there doing everything I know how to do in order to try and make a difference. I just hope it’s a positive difference.

What about you? Do you ever find yourself wondering the same thing about what type of a difference you have made in the world? Do you ever take the time to share thoughtful and kind words with those who may have made a difference with your life?

This entry was posted in Character, Faith, Heaven, Impacting The World, Jesus, Love, Movies, Religion, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

