My Favorite Thing About Me

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself – Daily Prompt

images

My favorite thing about myself is my patience and laid back personality.

True, it can be less than a good thing in some situations. Because of my laid back personality it can come across in some situations as if I don’t really care. It can also give people an opportunity to take advantage and get by with more than they should.

However the patience and laid back personality also allows me to be good at a lot of the things that I like to do.

For instance, it allows me to very rarely get frustrated or irritated with my four year old daughter. A lot of times how easy they are to deal with and take care of can be a direct correlation to how you interact with them. Especially when she was younger and took her calmness from me when she was upset.

It allows me to have the patience to coach youth sports. Especially when I coached baseball, which was a hurry up and wait game, the patience was needed to be able to deal with the restless children.

My patience behind the wheel allows me to not start screaming at other drivers with road rage. This helps me not set a bad example for my daughter who is in the back seat of the car listening to anything and everything that is being said, not only on the radio but also by me.

I am able to not be easily upset by the little things that happen in life. Some people I know and have come across let small things upset them and then when larger things come about they totally freak out. By being able to remain calm and relaxed I can better handle the bigger problems in life.

Without my patience and laid back personality I think I would find a lot of what I like to do to be hard to do. So I am truly grateful for this gift.

What is the favorite thing about yourself??

 

 

This entry was posted in Character, Coaching Youth Sports, Daily Prompt, Father-Daughter, Parenting, Personality, Youth Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Favorite Thing About Me

  1. Gail says:

    Patience is a virtue I wish I had more of. I seem to be getting more impatient the older I get.

Leave a Reply

