Taking On The Personality Of Those Around You

431484_520090138021784_1012098723_n

Who are the five people you spend the most time with? Do you think it is true you become more like them? Do they become more like you? Who are the five people your children spend most their time with?

When I stop and think about the five people I spend the most time with, it was hard for me to come up with five people. Obviously, I have my wife and my daughter as the first two. But beyond that I am not sure I can really come up with single individuals I spend a lot of time with. This is not surprising to me since I am your classic definition of an introvert.

Obviously, I work and spend the day talking to co-workers. And I spend a lot of time involved in my church, but again not sure I would say there is any one individual that I spend a lot of time with one on one.

I do believe that it is true that the people you spend the most time with do rub off on you. If you spend time around the wrong character of people then you are going to end up doing things that are less wholesome for you. You are going to end up in bad situations that you are going to look back on and wonder how you got to where you are. If you spend time with people who are always trying to better those around them then you are going to be trying to do the same.

In theory it would be nice to believe that we could rub off more on others around us then they rub off on us. And I do think that in some rare cases individuals are strong enough to do that. Especially if it’s a situation where one person is brought in as a clear cut leader or mentor. But in most cases, I think everyone rubs off on each other equally.

This is especially important when we think of our children. During the childhood years, personalities, character, and morals are still being formed. It is even more important for them to be around wholesome individuals during this age then it is for us adults.

This is why I think it’s important that we take time to try and get involved with opportunities to try and mentor and educate children. We all leave this to parents and schools. But this is a classic example where taking a village to raise a child is extremely helpful. The people who want to shape our children negatively are out there. We need more people who want to positively shape our children to be out there too!

 

This entry was posted in Character, Children, Impacting The World, Kids Growing Up, Parenting, Personality, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

