My Work Area

Your challenge this week is to practice your powers of observation. Take any person, place, or event, and write three paragraphs describing your subject in great detail.Weekly Writing Challenge

imagesCALX7ZM7

I am going to describe the space that I spend 8 hours a day, 40 hours a week in. My work area.

I work in an office environment. Little two people cubicles all around. Tan walls, bright fluorescent lights to make sure none of us fall asleep. Grayish blue carpeting that has little speckles in the design. If you are lucky you get to sit where you can view outside from a distance through one of the windows on a far wall. Through out the building you can see on the walls different pictures of the products we service, history of some of the products, and sign boards to keep you aware of whats currently going on. You can also see filing cabinets. Fake plants sit on top of cubible walls and filing cabinets.

My cubicle is personalized to make it as much me as possible. I have two sets of desk drawers, three drawers in each set, the bottom drawer being twice the size. On top of those filing cabinets sets a counter which I can place my things on top of. The counter top is tan as is my cubible walls. All through out my cubice I have picture frames sitting on the counter top. I also have pictures posted up on my wall. Pictures to remind me of the people who are dear to me. My daughter in her school pictures, sports pictures, dance pictures, and of course pictures of us together. Pictures of me and my spouse. A wedding picture, pictures of us on a cruise. And of course pictures of my dogs. I also have my Ohio State calendars, one trivia and facts and one just different pictures each month. There are the usual work needed items, to do calendar, time zone map, tips for handling difficult customers, pens and pencils, stapler, calculator, etc.

The building can be bustling or quiet depending on the area of the building you are in and the time of the day. The building is open from 6am to midnight each day, 7 days a week. The way the building is organized the people who work common schedules are sat together. In my area, we are all generally gone by 5:30 and only work Mon thru Fri. While people are here you can constantly hear people taking phone calls, asking for help from team mates, or even just talking and laughing in general with others around them. If I happen to work much past 5:30 or on the weekend the area gets very quiet. Sometimes you can hear a pin drop. People walk by and see someone over here and it’s an instant conversation of why you are in at such an odd time.

 

This entry was posted in DPchallenge, Weekly Writing Challenge, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Work Area

  1. Pingback: Picture It And Write | I Shoot I Zoom A Sassy Shot

Leave a Reply

