Music? Who needs it.

What role does music play in your life?Daily Prompt

images

This comes as a shock to a lot of people, but I am not a music person. I don’t listen to music. I am more a talk radio person. I could not tell you who sang what song or even what type of music is on the radio most of the time. This goes to the extent that people often think it is an oddity.

Occasionally I will hear a song I like if I am in the car with the wife or someone else who has the radio on. But even if I remember the name of the song I probably could not tell you who sang the song or if they had ever sang any other song.

That does not mean music does not have an affect on me. Our church has two different campuses. One where they play more traditional, hymnal type music. One where they play the modern day music with instruments and a band.

I enjoy the more traditional, hymnal type music with the organ playing. I feel like I can focus on the words and the meaning of the song. I find that the hymns actually stick with me and speak to me.

When going to the campus with the band, I often find that the music is not moving. The beat occasionally is something I like and enjoy. But five minutes after the song is over I probably could not tell you what the song was about or what words where in the song. It does not speak to me or move me like the hymns do.

I’m not sure if I just get so distracted by all the musical instruments that I miss the words or if I just don’t have the musical capacity to filter all the different levels of the instruments and still pick up on the message. But the hymnal music with the little instrumental assistance is what provides the calm, relaxing mood which really allows me to connect with the spiritual message that is to come in the service.

The other role that music plays in my life is a rather funny one. My daughter loves music and learns songs pretty quickly. She loves to have mom sing to her. And she expects dad to be able to sing to her as well.

I have learned the bed time songs we sang for the longest period of time. Hush Little Baby, Take Me Out to the Ballgame, and another song which I do not know the name of. This in itself was an accomplishment as prior to becoming a father I only knew two songs. Happy Birthday and Take Me Out to the Ballgame.

Recently however she has decided a new song is required. And she has tried to teach it to me several times. I have learned parts of it, but not all of it. So I start to sing it, but she constantly has to interrupt to tell me the correct words in the song. Someday I will probably learn it. Right about the time she is ready to move on to the next song!

Her and my wife get to share laughs all the time at how horrible I am at knowing and learning different songs. It’s very clearly a mom and daughter talent that I do not share in!

 

This entry was posted in Church, Daily Prompt, Father-Daughter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music? Who needs it.

  1. rc0321 says:

    lol You might know the words to take me out to the ballgame, but you do not know the rhythm, and I am pretty sure you do not know the right words to happy birthday! We still love you though!

  2. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Murdering It On Karaoke Night” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

