The Awesomeness of Technology

Most of us have heard the saying, “That’s the best thing since sliced bread!” What do you think is actually the best thing since sliced bread? – Daily Prompt

index

When I saw this question, two things came to mind immediately. The first being my Tivo DVR. The second being my IPhone.

My Tivo allows me to catch the television shows I like when it’s convenient to me. That’s not when the shows air. I currently am about 3 months behind on shows I watch. But that is okay because they will be there when I have the time to watch them.

It allows me to be a television junky without being glued to the television constantly. I can still partake in the other, more important things in my life. Things like interacting with my daughter and wife. Things like being able to get outdoors when the weather is nice and enjoy nature.

It comes in very handy for my sporting events. No more having to set aside three and a half hours for a football game on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon. I can record it and then fast forward through the commercials, half time, replays, etc. I can watch a game in an hour or less. And even miss the annoying announcers that sometimes are calling the game.

On the other hand, my IPhone is something I would truly be lost without. It goes everywhere with me. It has all my information right at my finger tips. Not just the normal things you would expect on a phone such as contacts and text message. But also gives me constant access to Facebook, Twitter, my blog, my email, and so much more.

I can access my bank accounts, my calendar, and all my favorite news sites. When I have a free moment I can take my turn in the one of many Words with Friends (feel free to start a game – user id joec0321) game which I have going. I have my calendar on it, my GPS, even can play radio stations on it. It acts as something my daughter can use to play educational games on or watch one of her many shows streamed through Netflix when we are shopping or in the car.

All that and probably much more I am not thinking about all in a small handheld device that fits easily in my pocket. Who would of ever imagined that either of these technologies would of been available even a 10 or 15 years ago? Where else will technology go in the future? The possibilities are endless and I am excited to see where it goes!

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Sports, Technology, Television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

