Through The Window

Go to the nearest window. Look out for a full minute. Write about what you saw. – Daily Prompt

images

I went to look out my bedroom window into my backyard. Even though it was 60 degrees today and felt like a warm, breezy spring day what I saw made it clear that it was still the middle of winter.

The first thing my eye was drawn to was the covered pool. The tarp covering it up and the water standing on top. Leaves floating in the water. Seeing this always immediately sets my mindset in a depressed mode. I can’t wait until spring is here in a couple months so we can get the cover off the pool and get it up and running again.

The deck is in full fledged winter mode as well. All the outdoor furniture is backed up against the wall underneath the overhang that covers the deck. The outdoor deck carpet folded up and put away behind the furniture up against the wall.

Looking further out into the yard, the fact we are in winter hits you full force. All the trees are without their leaves. The rose bushes and other bushes around the yard look sad. What leaves are left, if any, are clearly brown instead of the usual green you would see in the spring or summer. At the very top of one rose bush, a rose bud is still attached. But the brown color clearly shows that it will never bloom.

There are some signs that give you hope that spring is right away the corner. I can hear the birds chirping and singing back and forth. It’s almost as if they can sense my depressed outlook when looking out the window and they are letting me know there is only a short amount of time before everything will be turning green again. That my favorite season of the year is right around the corner.

I can see my daughter’s turtle sand box on the deck and her swing hanging from one of the trees. As the swing gently swings back and forth in the wind I can see the days soon to come of warm sunshine and her asking me to take her higher on her swing. Wanting to go higher than the trees all the way up to the sky.

How I am anxiously awaiting those days!

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Through The Window

  1. determined34 says:

    Great post, you are luck to have such defined seasons. We only seem to have two, most Australian Native plants are not deciduous. 🙂 D 34

  2. rc0321 says:

    Me too! We are going to have so much fun playing in the pool now that she can swim!

  3. Pingback: Inspiration: In The Heart Of Winter… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

