The Items I Would Miss After The Fire

Remember yesterday, when your home was on fire and you got to save five items? That means you left a lot of stuff behind. What are the things you wish you could have taken, but had to leave behind? – Daily Prompt

images

After only being able to take 5 items yesterday (read about it here) when the the house was on fire today’s post is about the things one would miss.

The first thing that comes to mind for me is all my sports memorabilia. I have what was originally known as my sports room. It has since been converted into a play room for my daughter. But the room is still painted scarlet and gray in the color scheme of the Buckeyes.

The room has a lot of sports items I have collected over the years. Bobbleheads, plaques, posters, signs, and other sports items. My wife likes to refer to them as my dolls. It would not be practical to pack up a room in just a few moments you would have to leave your house in case of a fire.

Another item that I would be upset about is my baseball card collection. These are cards I gathered when I was a child. They have been packed away in the attic and I have not looked at them for a long time. I don’t believe that there are any really valuable cards in the collection but I would still feel a loss over losing them.

I would also miss the items from my daughter’s childhood. Things like the outfit she came home from the hospital in. Her first Ohio State outfit. The pictures, crafts, and other items she has made so far. The newspapers we have collected from the special events that have happened in her life time. The paper from the day she was born, the paper from where Obama because the first African American President, etc.

There are probably other things I am not thinking about. Hopefully this hypothetical situation will never become reality and I will not need to experience the reality of these questions from the last couple of days.

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Disasters, Ohio State Buckeyes, Sports, Tragedy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Items I Would Miss After The Fire

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Burnt… the bushfire aftermath | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: DP Challenge – Burnt!!! | Beyond Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

