My Perfect Reading/Writing Room

A genie has granted your wish to build your perfect space for reading and writing. What’s it like? – Daily Prompt

index

I don’t often spend a whole lot of time dreaming about a perfect reading or writing room. I can pretty much read or write anywhere. There are only a few things that come to mind.

One thing I picture is having a big window that has a seat in it to sit in. The window would be able to be opened in the spring time to let the cool breeze blow in. Let the sounds of nature in. The birds singing or the crickets chirping in the evening. The wind gently rustling through the leaves. Maybe the rain drops falling. So peaceful and relaxing.

A second would be a fire place to keep warm on the cold fall and winter evenings. If I can’t have the cool breeze from the outside, the next best thing is to read or write while hearing the snap, crackle, pop of a warm, raging fire.

It would be nice to have a set of doors which open up to a balcony or deck. Maybe some chairs that I can sit in and read or write. A hot tub/sauna/pool that I can relax in as I think about topics or read a book. How relaxing it is just to think about.

The bigger thing I find myself dreaming of is the scenery out the window. To be situated on a mountain side overlooking a body of water. To see the beautiful, breath taking sunsets and sunrises. A peaceful way to start the day before the busy hustle and bustle sets in. Or a quiet, peaceful, serene sight to wind down a day with.

Seeing mountains on the other side of the body of water. When the sun shines just right, seeing the reflection of the mountains in the water. Possibly even snow covering the top peaks of the mountains. Rain clouds and storms starting to make their way over the peaks of the mountain tops as a storm moves in.

Would also need to have some woods near by. Something that would attract birds and wild life. So I could watch the birds flutter to and fro. An occasional deer or squirrel to rush by on the way from here to there. Something to be able to see the snow and ice cling to in the winter. But only when I could stay in my nice, warm, cozy house next to the big, raging fire.

So who can tell me where I can find this perfect spot?

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Reading, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Perfect Reading/Writing Room

  1. djmatticus says:

    Your perfect spot does sound exactly that – perfect. Sorry I can’t tell you where to find it, but if you do find it you probably shouldn’t tell anyone: keep it to yourself, your private sanctuary. Though, if you wanted to rent it out on occasion to some of your fellow writers you could maybe see some return on your investment… 😉

  2. Pingback: Write On! – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

