Important Lessons to Share

Have you ever had a mentor? What was the greatest lesson you learned from him or her? – Daily Prompt

index

I can’t think of a time that I have had a mentor so I am going to take another angle with this post. I am going to share the important lessons I would share if I was mentoring someone else.

Above all else I would share that the most important thing is to believe in yourself and always give it your all. If you go out and try something and find out you are not good at something, you have not failed. You have participated in a learning experience and learned about your limitations. Nobody is great at everything they attempt. We all have strengths and weaknesses and we won’t know what those are until we try. You only will fail if you say you can’t do something and refuse to try.

Another key point I would try to share would be that if you see something you think is a problem or something you don’t like, don’t just complain about it. Come up with a solution to the issue and try to rectify or correct the issue. If you just complain about it, nothing is every going to change. If you take action then the issue has the chance to be corrected or improved upon.

I would also try to impart the importance of the habit of always looking for the bright side of all situations. Sure, bad things happen to all of us. But some people have more than their fair share of bad things happening to them. I think this has a lot to do with how we look at those events. Many events in life can be good or bad, all depending on how you look at it. The ones who have more bad events also seem to me to be the ones who bring them on themselves by spending so much time worrying about the what-ifs. In any situation you can imagine the worst. But doing so will not help. It’s one thing to be prepared for the worst, it’s another to spend time thinking you know the worst is going to occur and willing it into being.

Another tactic to help with the bad times would be to focus on what you can do to help others. A spouse, children, people around you who may need your help. That’s not to say you should totally ignore yourself and your own needs. You have to make sure you meet your needs too, but people who tend to spend their time focusing on themselves are going to be less happy then those who tend to look for ways to impact those around them. Helping someone else meet one of their needs or improve their situation is going to make you feel better about yourself. Giving truly is much better than receiving.

Finally I would suggest that one needs to find something that is going to be something they can always look to have faith in that will allow them to know all is going to be fine in the end. For me that is my religion. I know that God is never going to provide more for me than I can handle. I also know he is going to provide me the strength I need in order to overcome anything that comes my way. I think it is important that each person has something they can fall back on which will never fail them and will help them through the tough times that happen in life.

What would you add to the list?

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Impacting The World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Important Lessons to Share

  1. Good Morning! I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Congratulations! and here is your link: http://dianarasmussen.com/2013/02/23/very-inspiring-blogger-award-who-knew/

Leave a Reply

