Advice You Would Not Share

download (1)

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received that you wouldn’t give to anyone else? Why don’t you think it would apply to others?Daily Post

This topic was hard for me at first. I couldn’t figure out why I would not pass on good advice I had received to someone else. Then I decided to make it specific advice and make it someone specific and not just a generality.

I overheard a conversation at work of someone talking about someone they know planning a wedding and the cost of the wedding. They were saying how they would advise the person to not worry about a big fancy wedding and use that money instead on a wonderful trip.

This brought to mind some advice I had regularly heard people share and advice which had been given to me in the past. Then I thought of my daughter and how would I ever give her the same advice if I ever decide she is allowed to date. And that brought me to this post.

When my wife and I were planning on getting married friends frequently gave the advice that we should just elope. The money could be saved and spent on a fun honeymoon or vacation. The friends said the wedding was more for show and for friends and family and less for us.

My wife was all for the idea. Myself I was more interested in having an actual wedding and ceremony. I just thought it would be fun to have all our family and friends present for such a special day in our lives. In the end we ended up eloping to Las Vegas. We had a nice little wedding in Vegas and spent a lot of time enjoying the town.

My mom was unhappy but other than that nobody else seemed to be upset about it. We did have fun in Vegas and saved a lot of money on the actual wedding itself. And we were legally married. So it all worked out.

For our 10th wedding anniversary my wife surprised me by having a surprise renewal of our wedding vows with friends and family present in our church. It was nice and special because our friends and family were there. Our daughter also got to be present. She obviously would not of been present at the original wedding so that was an additional benefit. I guess you could say we both got what we wanted.

However, when I ask myself if I would give my own daughter that advice the answer is a resounding NO! While it is true it is cheaper it is also true that I want her to have the best possible wedding. And I certainly want to be there to walk her down the aisle and hand her over. It will be an emotional day but it’s definitely something I want to do.

If she were to say she wanted to elope like we did then I would consider it and even probably give in since I ultimately want her to be happy. But I think in the end I would feel like I was missing out on something.

What about you? Is there advice you have been given you would not give someone else?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Advice You Would Not Share

  1. C J Alan says:

    I just walked one of our daughters down the aisle in September, and it is most definitely a day worth doing for both you and her!
    I wrote a post about it, but you just can’t describe the entire feeling! Trust me, it will be a magical moment between the two of you.

  2. I seldom leve comments, but i did some searching and wouhnd up here Advice You Would
    Not Share | A Cup of Joe. And I actually do hhave 2 questions for
    you if you tend not to mind. Is it only me or does it appear
    like a few of these remarks come across like they are coming from brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other social sites, I woould like to foollow anything new
    you have to post. Would you list of all of your communal
    pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • joec0321 says:

      The beauty of life – just because it seems like some comments are strange doesn’t mean they are. Just different view points and ways of thinking about things. Makes life interesting! You can find me on twitter at @joec0321 although I don’t post much there.

Leave a Reply

