Learning a New Skill

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?Daily Prompt

index

When I am learning a new skill, I think I learn better by someone showing me how to do it and then getting out of the way and letting me get into it.

The showing part does not need to be in depth and in detail. Just let me see how you do it. If I have questions I will ask. No need to repeat the same steps over and over again. Sometimes when people are showing how they are doing something they like to make it seem more difficult and involved then it is. I am sure part of that is because they want to make sure you understand.

But I think part of it is also so they can feel more important as well. After all, everyone likes to think they are the best at what they do. You feel more accomplished when you can do something difficult like sewing a shirt as opposed to just buttoning the buttons on a shirt.

Reading about what to do would be my next best choice. As long as documents you are reading are reasonably well written. Some instructions you come across are missing steps or assume that the reader already knows a key step when they may not.

How about you? How do you like to learn new skills?

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Learning, Personal Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment